Charged with a DUI Under the Age of 21?
If You or a Loved One Have Been Charged with an Underage DUI, STOP and Think for a Minute. Here are 4 Vital Things to Consider When Looking to Protect Your Future:
- You only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to request a DMV hearing. Your DUI attorney can make this request on your behalf.
- The punishment is more severe for persons under 21, especially with the DMV under California’s “Zero Tolerance” laws. When facing an underage DUI, you want a DUI lawyer who has won thousands of second DUI cases in California on your side.
- As in all DUI cases, a person under the age of 21 charged with a DUI still faces the criminal courts, where they can be fined, put in jail, given alcohol education classes, community service, etc., depending on the facts of the case and the DMV.
- Despite the severity of consequences for persons charged with an underage DUI, many DUI’s can be successfully defended by an experienced attorney. See what previous clients are saying about how the DUI Man handled their case & got them the best result possible.
The law for those Driving Under the Influence under the age of 21 is governed by Vehicle Code section 23140 (DUI for persons under 21).
Does “Zero Tolerance” Affect You?
California’s “Zero Tolerance” laws make penalties much tougher on those people under 21 who are caught driving with any hint of impairment due to alcohol. The under 21 driver can have their driver’s license taken away by the DMV if their blood alcohol content is .01 percent or greater; they can be charged with a violation of California Vehicle Code section 23140 (DUI for persons under 21) if their blood alcohol content is .05 percent or greater; and they can be charged under the same DUI laws as persons over 21, all at the same time. Furthermore, if you are under 21, you must provide a breath sample upon a lawful detention (i.e. in the field while driving) to a peace officer upon request. You are also required to give a breath or blood test (or urine if drugs are suspected) upon a lawful arrest. The California DUI law is different if you are over 21.
Get an Experienced California DUI Lawyer on Your Side
Since the penalties and consequences for persons under 21 are so much more severe, it is crucial to have an experienced, aggressive Los Angeles DUI attorney on your side. Let us examine all of your options and make certain that everything possible is being done to protect your rights, your license, and your life.
Call us now so that we can discuss the facts of your case to establish your defenses early. Time is not on your side.
Let the DUI Man be, “YOUR SUPPORT IN COURT.”