If You or a Loved One Have Been Charged with a Second DUI, STOP and Think for a Minute…
Here are 4 Vital Things to Consider When Looking to Protect Your Future…
- You only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to contact the DMV. Your attorney can make this request on your behalf.
- Second DUI offenses carry harsher penalties. If convicted of a second DUI, you could lose your driver’s license, end up in jail (up to one year), pay substantial fines, and other court-ordered consequences.
- Prosecutors are aggressive against second DUI cases and are looking to convict you with the most strict penalties. With a second DUI, you want a DUI lawyer who has won thousands of second DUI cases in California on your side.
- When preparing to defend second DUI charges, there are multiple defenses that an experienced DUI attorney can use to save your license. See what people just like you are saying about how the DUI Man handles their case & got them the best result possible.
It is even more important under these circumstances to hire competent counsel to help prevent, if at all possible, having a second offense on your record. As an experienced Los Angeles DUI lawyer, I regularly help people defend themselves from second DUI charges.
Your attorney’s experience with DUI, negotiation & litigation abilities, and reputation with California judges will DIRECTLY affect the outcome of your case.
Call us now so that we can discuss the facts of your case to establish your defenses early.
Let the DUI Man be, “YOUR SUPPORT IN COURT.”
Protect Your Future…Call the DUI Man Direct, 24/7 1-888-384-1489
Second DUI Offense Law in California
If a person gets convicted of a second California DUI, had this offense occurred within ten (10) years of the first DUI, conviction is punishable by:
- Imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 96 hours, nor more than one year.
- A fine of not less than three hundred ninety dollars ($390), nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000).
- The court may even disallow the issuance of a restricted driver’s license.
A sentence of 96 hours of confinement may be served in two increments consisting of a continuous 48 hours each. The two 48-hour increments may be served non consecutively
The court may grant probation on a second DUI offense in California, however, the restrictions under these probationary terms are still more oppressive. If the court grants probation, the court shall impose as conditions of probation that the person be confined in county jail and fined under either of the following:
A) For at least 10 days, but not more than one year, and pay a fine of at least three hundred ninety dollars ($390), but not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000).
B) For at least 96 hours, but not more than one year, and pay a fine of at least three hundred ninety dollars ($390), but not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000).
C) The person’s privilege to operate a motor vehicle shall be suspended by the DMV. The court shall require the person to surrender the driver’s license.
In addition, the court shall require the person to:
- Enroll and participate, for at least 18 months subsequent to the date of the underlying violation and in a manner satisfactory to the court, in a driving-under-the-influence. The person shall complete the entire program and shall not be given any credit for any program activities completed prior to, the date of the current violation.
- The court shall advise the person at the time of sentencing that the driving privilege shall not be restored until proof satisfactory to the Department of Motor Vehicles of successful completion of a driving-under-the-influence program.
- Whenever, when considering the circumstances taken as a whole, the court determines that the person punished under this section would present a traffic safety or public safety risk if authorized to operate a motor vehicle during the period of suspension imposed, the court may disallow the issuance of a restricted driver’s license.