If You or a Loved One Have Been Charged with a Third DUI, STOP and Think for a Minute…
Here are 4 Vital Things to Consider When Looking to Protect Your Future
- You only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to request a DMV Hearing. You attorney can make this request on your behalf.
- Third DUI offenses carry harsher penalties. If convicted of a third DUI, you could lose your driver’s license, end up in jail (up to one year), pay substantial fines, and other court-ordered consequences.
- Prosecutors handle third DUI cases aggressively. When charged with a third DUI, you want a DUI lawyer who has a history of successfully defending third DUI Cases in California on your side.
- When preparing to defend third DUI charges, there are multiple defenses that an experienced DUI attorney can use to save your license. See what previous clients are saying about how the DUI Man handles their case & got them the best result possible.
It is even more important under these circumstances to hire competent counsel to help prevent, if at all possible, having a third offense on your record. As an experienced Los Angeles DUI lawyer, I regularly help people defend themselves from 3rd DUI charges.
Your attorney’s experience with DUI, negotiation & litigation abilities, and reputation with California judges will DIRECTLY affect the outcome of your case.
Call us now so that we can discuss the facts of your case to establish your defenses early. Time is not on your side.
Let the DUI Man be, “YOUR SUPPORT IN COURT.”
Protect Your Future. Call the DUI Man Direct, 24/7 at 1 (888) 384-1489
Third DUI Offense Law in California
If a person gets convicted of a violation of a third DUI offense in California, and it is within ten years of two prior DUI convictions, that person shall be punished by:
- Imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 120 days, nor more than one year.
- A fine of not less than three hundred ninety dollars ($390), nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000).
You could also be facing a revocation of your drivers license for 3 years as a result of being listed as a habitual offender.
The court may grant probation on a third DUI offense, however the restrictions under these probationary terms are that much more strict.
In both the second and especially the third DUI Offense category, the courts are more likely to impose jail time. If the court grants probation the court shall impose as conditions of probation that the person be confined in county jail and fined under either of the following:
In addition, if the court grants probation to any person punished under Section 23546, the court may order as a condition of probation that the person participate, for at least 30 months subsequent to the underlying conviction and in a manner satisfactory to the court, in a driving-under-the-influence program. In lieu of the minimum term of imprisonment specified in subdivision (a), the court shall impose as a condition of probation under this subdivision that the person be confined in the county jail for at least 30 days but not more than one year. The court shall not order the treatment prescribed by this subdivision unless the person makes a specific request and shows good cause for the order, whether or not the person has previously completed a treatment program. A person ordered to treatment pursuant to this subdivision shall apply to the court or to a board of review, as designated by the court, at the conclusion of the program to obtain the court’s order of satisfaction. Only upon the granting of that order of satisfaction by the court may the program issue its certificate of successful completion and report the completion to the Department of Motor Vehicles. A failure to obtain an order of satisfaction at the conclusion of the driving-under-the-influence program is a violation of probation. In order to enable all required persons to participate, each person shall pay the program costs commensurate with the person’s ability to pay. No condition of probation required pursuant to this subdivision is a basis for reducing any other probation requirement in this section or for avoiding the mandatory license revocation